Archive | Music RSS feed for this section

Kev Choice – “Oakland Riviera” Now Available Online!

21 Jan


We’re excited to announce that Kev Choice’s new album, Oakland Riviera is now available online!  The album features some of the Bay Area’s finest musical talent:  Martin Luther McCoy, Mistah F.A.B.Erk Tha Jerk,  Zumbi (of Zion I), Phesto Dee (of Souls of Mischief), Jennifer Johns, Viveca Hawkins (of The Memorials), Lalin St. Juste (of The Seshen), Young Fyah, Stevie L and Tony Vic.  Musicians include John “Omayga” Adams, Uriah DuffyAndrew Levin, Marcus Shelby, Howard Wiley, and more.  Stream the album in full below and grab your copy on Bandcamp! #oaklandriviera

Oakland Riviera: Album Artwork + Track Listing Revealed + Available Online 1/21

16 Jan


Oakland Riviera – Track Listing

1. That Life feat. Viveca Hawkins
2. MacArthur’s Mood
3. Give It Up
4. Shed Light feat. Jennifer Johns & Howard Wiley on Sax
5. Can’t Be Free feat. Mistah F.A.B.
6. Lakeshore Ave.
7. Stars feat. Stevie L
8. Make Believers feat. Steve Knight
9. International Blvd. feat. Howard Wiley on Sax
10. Forever Again feat. Erk tha Jerk and Stevie L.
11. The Greatest feat. Tony Vic & Jennifer Johns
12. Golden Chariots feat. Martin Luther & Lalin St. Juste
13. Foothill Dip
14. Born Conquerors feat. Zumbi, Phesto Dee & Young Fiyah
15. Crazy Illusions

Kev Choice Ensemble ‘Oakland Riviera’ Release Party at Yoshi’s Oakland – Jan. 16th!

11 Jan


Kev Choice Ensemble
Oakland Riviera Release Party

Thursday, January 16, 2014
Doors 7:30pm, Show 8pm
This event is all ages
$17 Advance, $20 Door

» Buy Tickets

Join the Kev Choice Ensemble at Yoshi’s Oakland this Thursday for the Oakland Riviera album release concert! The show is expected to sell out so we highly recommend that you purchase your tickets in advance. See you at the show!

Download: Jennifer Johns, “Aquarius” – Produced by Kev Choice

25 Oct


Kev Choice has been busy in the studio with Oakland vocalist Jennifer Johns to produce (in its entirety) “Chronicles of The Aquarian Mind”, a collaborative project between the two artists.  In a recent interview with the San Francisco Bay View newspaper he described the music as “a fusion of Afro-Beat, House, Hip-Hop and Soul.  Sounds of Oakland, Africa and the Caribbean.  An incredible synthesis of sound.”

The title track from the upcoming release, “Aquarius”, has recently been made available online for download.  Look out for more music from this project and name your price to download “Aquarius”.

Daily Dosage: Euro Edition #2 – Kev Choice – “Show The World” (Free Download)

17 Oct

Rocked my first “opener” set tonight in Dijon, France.  Nice intimate crowd, and despite language barrier, and being unheard of, the crowd was rocking with me hard! Nice introduction to European crowds, people are generally appreciative and accepting of good music, and they love Hip-Hop!  Best compliment of the night was that my performance was “powerful.”  Good to be able to touch people, thats why I’m here, to “Show The World” what I was born to do and have worked hard for most of my life.  The beat was inspired by a sample from the French composer and arranger Jean Claude-Petit.

New Video!! Kev Choice-“Arietta”

29 Aug

M.C/Pianist Kev Choice flips a classical piece by composer Edvard Grieg and turns it into a heartfelt story about a lost love. Being one of the most accomplished musician/rappers in Hip-Hop, Kev Choice, along with producer PC Munoz wanted to showcase Kev as a pianist and lyricist without any other musical accompaniment. With this naked quality, it reveals a unique character and genuine emotion in the music, while bringing out the essence of the composition and the rhyme. This video was filmed in Kev Choice’s hometown of Oakland, California and was directed by Samm Styles and Brian Storm for DreamChaser Films. “Arietta” can be found on Kev Choice’s recent project, “The Power Of Choice.”

ALBUM RELEASE: Kev Choice-“The Power of Choice”

9 Feb


M.C./Pianist Kev Choice opens up his heart and soul and takes us on a musical journey with “The Power of Choice.” The album reflects songs of inspiration, struggle, motivation, and encouragement. Kev Choice also discusses his dreams, success, losses and loves over an array of musical soundscapes. Clever and wise lyrically, substance filled content, and beats that slap beyond the melodic and harmonic complexity of most of today’s Hip-Hop make this a “Powerful” album to have and listen to.

Tracklist: The Power Of Choice

1. My Life
2. I Don’t Walk, I Fly
3. So Cold
4. Are You Impressed feat. J Myers (prod. by Aagee)
5. Let It All Go feat. Martin Luther
6. Dreaming feat. Mykel
7. Take It There feat. MacArthur
8. The Impossible feat. Nonameko
9. Show You Off feat. Mykel
10. The Best
11. The Struggle
12. Motivation
13. These Words
14. Gettin’ It Good feat. Viveca Hawkins
15. Dearly Departed feat. Uriah Duffy (dedicated to Dewey Tucker)
16. Arietta *Bonus Track* prod. by PC Munoz

Download Kev Choice’s new single, “Let It All Go” feat. Martin Luther


MP3: Kev Choice – “Let It All Go” feat. Martin Luther

12 Jan

Kev Choice – dubbed as the “Hip-Hop Pianist” and his long-time collaborator, “Rebel Soul Rocker” Martin Luther, join forces for this futuristic soul slapper “Let It All Go.”

Both artists have collaborated over the last five years – Kev Choice as keyboardist for Martin Luther’s band and both have co-produced music together for various projects. The two are also members of the Bay Area super group “Town Bizness” along with Too $hort and Silk-E.

“Let It All Go,” the first single from Kev Choice’s new project “The Power of Choice” (self-released 1/11/11) is an uplifting song about releasing all the stress and drama we face in everyday life. In Kev’s words, there’s “nothing like positive and powerful music to help ease the burdens of everyday life.” Let it All Go.


14 Dec

Here is “Kevileak” #1–“MY LIFE” from my upcoming project “THE POWER OF CHOICE” dropping 1/11/11. This is a reflective song, where I’m talking life in general and just trying to figure out myself and my place in the world, living, learning and growing everyday, MY LIFE!

Copy and paste the link below to listen and download “My Life”:

%d bloggers like this: